Screen Shot 2020-06-25 at 8.33.12 PM.png


The best we can hope for in making music - the highest degree of achievement in this weird territory - is to inspire someone else to try creating something. Whether that be a poem, a photo, a painting, or pottery; it does not matter.

In a climate of ruthless competition for our attention, the stakes for each of us individually to create have never been higher. It is infinitely easier to passively consume than it is to actively create. Observation, reflection, and the generation of new thoughts are inherently wrapped in the creative process which faces troubling erosion among current and future generations.

The music of Fifth Lucky Dragon is informed by these realities. Through lyrical integrity and sonic innovation, Fifth Lucky Dragon hopes to deliver music that resonates beyond the songs themselves.

Behind the Name

In March of 1954, a Japanese fishing vessel set out on the Pacific Ocean. The story turned from routine to tragic when the vessel encountered the nuclear fallout of a U.S. hydrogen-bomb test, reportedly more powerful than the U.S. anticipated. Soon after returning to shore, the crew began to suffer irreparable and in some cases fatal effects of radiation poisoning. But not before they unknowingly sold the contaminated fish to people who would consequently suffer the similar fates.

Louis Imperiale came across this incident when his high school concert band played a piece called “Eternal Memoir - Saga of the Lucky Dragon.” The piece caught his ear due to its drastic dynamics and sonic intensity, and upon looking into its background, he found the incident particularly compelling because it manifests the potential collateral impact of our decisions and actions. In this case, the effects were significantly more widespread and long-lasting than anticipated.

The name of the fishing vessel was Daigo Fukuryu Maru (No. 5 Lucky Dragon) which is where the band name “Fifth Lucky Dragon” comes from. It is intended to serve as a reminder of the story and the lessons it offers for each of us.

An interesting side note: Very few people have heard of the incident, and not a single person Louis has talked to recalls hearing anything of it in school.

If you are interested in keeping up with or reaching out to the band, Facebook and Instagram @fifthluckydragon are the best ways.

Subscribe to Stay in the Loop!

Fifth Lucky Dragon © 2020

  • White Spotify Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Bandcamp

Fifth Lucky